Fortress "Firka" was one fortification work constructed in the 16th century lies on the northwestern edge of the harbor of Chania.
Entering of Fortress Firkas is located at the entrance of the Nautical Museum of Crete, visiting hours are the same as the Maritime Museum of Crete 9:00 to 16:00. Fortress Firkas was the headquarters of the Military Governor of the city, while the interior space was configured in barracks ordnance depots and there is a large reservoir which collects water from the roofs round. In the corner turret of the fortress was raised on December 1, 1913 at a formal ceremony, the Greek flag for the Union of Crete with Greece and every Sunday morning and evening yields honors during the raising and lowering of. This angle of the harbor is amazing for a commemorative photo.